You Are Here: Home » ASSEMBLY » OYO ASSEMBLY: House Extends Council Chairmen Tenure

OYO ASSEMBLY: House Extends Council Chairmen Tenure

LEGISREPORTS NG –The Oyo State House of Assembly yesterday granted Governor Abiola Ajimobi’s request for a fresh extension of the tenure of 30 out of the 33 council caretaker chairmen by six months.

The chairmen, whose earlier six months tenure expired yesterday, had been in office since last November.

The fresh tenure will expire in October 7, after which a statutory 150-day notice must be given before the election.

The Speaker, Mrs. Monsurat Sunmonu, said the house is waiting for executive directive on the remaining three local government councils including Ona-Ara, Itesiwaju and Ibadan North East.

On the conduct of council polls, Mr. Adeniyi Farinto (Iwajowa Constituency) said the executive cannot nominate members of the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) because of a pending court case.

Farinto urged the executive and all parties involved to expedite action on the legal tussle causing the delay.

In another development, two bills on the law establishing the Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa, and Oke-Ogun Polytechnic, Saki, passed through the first reading.



This report was prepared by our reporter in Ibadan


LegisReports is Published by Centenary Media Ltd. Tel: +447440678471 © 2013 All Rights Reserved.

Scroll to top