You Are Here: Home » ASSEMBLY » AKWA IBOM ASSEMBLY: Akpabio sends commissioner-nominees to Assembly for clearance

AKWA IBOM ASSEMBLY: Akpabio sends commissioner-nominees to Assembly for clearance

LEGISREPORTS NG – Weeks of speculations that Governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State was either going to dissolve or reshuffle his cabinet gained grounds with the submission of five names as commissioner nominees and special adviser to the State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.



In a letter dated 3rd June, 2013 and addressed to the Speaker, Hon. Elder Sam Ikon, the governor said it has become necessary to effect some adjustments In the membership of the State Executive Council.




The letter stated that “in line with section 192(2) of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the governor forwarded the under listed names of nominees for appointment to the office of commissioners/special adviser for screening and subsequent

confirmation by the State House Assembly.


“They are Professor Atim Antai, Dr. Ememabasi Bassey, Engr. Iboro Ekanem, Dr. Glory Emmanuel Edet as nominees to the office of Honourable Commissioners, while Prince Godwin Nrukude is the only Honorable Special Adviser nominee”.



In line with normal legislative procedures, the Speaker yesterday committed the letter to the House Committee on Judiciary, Justice,

Human Rights and Public Petitions for in-depth screening.




In the same breathe; the House has ratified the appointment of Obong Colonel T. Udoh as the Chairman of the Akwa Ibom State Assembly Service Commission. Obong Udoh had served as a former Chief of Staff to Governor Akpabio.




This report was prepared by our reporter in Uyo


LegisReports is Published by Centenary Media Ltd. Tel: +447440678471 © 2013 All Rights Reserved.

Scroll to top